Beach & Pool Essentials

Hey everyone!

So I’m at the beach in the Canaries right now, and since it’s summer, I’m assuming many of you are going to the pool or the beach these days, so I decided to share my beach and pool essentials!

First, sunscreen, if you only bring one thing (apart from you bathing suit) it should be sunscreen. As you probably already know, sunscreen helps prevent sunburns in the short term and cancer or other skin diseases in the long term. I’m not very picky when it comes to sunscreen, the one I have right now is from Banana Boat, and is SPF 50 and Pa +++, which is pretty good! As for the smell, I know that some people really don’t like sunscreen scent, but I personally love it, just smelling it makes me feel like I’m at the beach! One same note, a lip balm with SPF is a good thing to have too, because trust me, if your lips get sun burnt, you’re going to regret it!

Second, makeup, personally I don’t wear much makeup at the beach, usually just mascara, and sometimes eyeliner in the evenings if I want to look more done-up! I’m using the Maybelline The Rocket Mascara in the waterproof version, and this is really important, make sure that all of the makeup you wear is waterproof or at the very least water resistant, you don’t want all of your makeup ending up in the ocean or the pool!

Related to that, I think it’s good to have face wipes handy! They’re always good to clean your face quickly if you don’t really have the time to wash it fully or need to remove any makeup that might have smudged, or just to freshen up in the heat!

Next, I like to have a good book with me, some people prefer magazines, but I ‘d rather have a book! Right now I am reading Every Day by David Leviathan, I’m not very far into it by I’m enjoying it so far! It’s a light story that I find perfect for the beach, you don’t want to be reading some dark, complicated novel you have to focus too much on to understand!

Also for entertainment, I recommend a good summer playlist of all your favourite songs! I’ve been loving Meghan Rienks’ May playlist on Spotify, May I? It’s a great mix of relaxing songs and up-beat songs, and it’s about 3.5 hours long so there’s no way I’ll get bored of it! Obviously, you could also make you own playlist, but I didn’t have time to make my own!

Next, a bathing suit, I personally prefer bikinis, but it’s really up to you. I usually bring 2 when I go on a trip to the beach and alternate between them every day so they have time to dry and I don’t get strong tan-lines if they have different cuts! For this trip, I have one with a blue and white checkered pattered and a more colourful one with pastel tones from Forever 21, which I got just before leaving!

After that, I have a few fashion-related essentials: flip flops (or sandals), a beach cover-up, and shorts! I usually only bring flip flops and one other pair of shoes to the beach because they’re convenient, usually cheap, and pretty much made for this! For the cover-up, I find that there are times when you don’t really want to change out of your bathing-suit, but you feel you should be more dressed. I usually just put on a cover up over my swimsuit at lunch, for example! Last, I don’t think you can go to the beach without a pair of shorts, either to wear with your bathing suit, or a cover-up, or any other shirt!

Up next, sunglasses, these are actually really important for protecting your eyes from the sun, they don’t have to be super fancy or anything. Pick a pair you really like, I know you can get colourful ones from Forever 21 if you’re bored of the usual black-framed ones, but personally, I like those just fine!

Next, a beach towel. Depending on where you are going, you may not need one and the hotel you are staying at will probably be providing one, but it’s better to be safe than sorry and bring a towel to lie on by the pool on on the beach, and to dry yourself off.

And finally, some snacks. After a couple of hours on the beach or by the pool, you’re bound to get hungry, and since hotel food usually gets quite expensive, I find it good to have some snacks handy, like granola bars, dried fruit or some nuts!

Those were all of my beach essentials, let me know in the comments if I’ve left anything out!

See you in the next post! ♥

Leave a Reply

