Hair Rebonding

Hey everyone!

So I’m not sure how much I’ve written about my hair in previous posts, but I don’t think I’ve ever told you that much, apart from the fact that it’s somewhere between wavy and curly, is quite dry and I often flat iron it! Actually, my hair has changed a lot throughout my life, it started out curly until I was about 2, then it started straightening out (completely naturally) and only had ringlets at the bottom until about summer 2012  when I was 13 and it started getting curlier. I almost feel like one day I washed my hair and I woke up the next day with curly hair but it was probably a lot more progressive than that.

About a month after my hair started getting curly, I got a cheap flat iron just to try it out before investing in an expensive one from Sephora or something, Then, in November 2012, my friends got me the Amika flat iron for my birthday (I reviewed it here) and I used that on most mornings for almost two years. Needless to say, that really damaged my already fine, dry hair. I had been thinking about rebonding my hair for a while, probably over a year, but never did it because it’s quite expensive, damaging, and permanent. Then finally, about a month ago, I talked to my mom about it and I decided to get it done, because the maintenance of my curly hair was getting to be too much, straightening it took up a lot of time and damaged it, and taking care of the curls for them to look good was too much of a hassle.

That’s when I started looking for a good place to get it done, that wasn’t too expensive and didn’t have bad reviews. I asked a couple of friends who’d had their hair rebonded and did a lot of googling, and finally found a place that was decently priced, had plenty of rave reviews and no bad ones I could find, InVogue Hair Salon. I was still somewhat nervous about my hair being ruined, but decided to just go for it and made an appointment. I have medium-long hair and it cost about SGD $350 for the rebonding, a moisturising treatment and a free trim, the treatment is optional but I recommend it because that’s what makes your hair soft and shiny!

invogue

I’m not going to go into the details of the procedure (e-mail me – glitterandbeauty.blog@gmail.com – if you want the full details), but they basically put in the chemical, let it sit, washed it out, blow dried my hair, put more chemical in and so on, and I was there for a total of 6 hours and left with super soft, perfectly straight hair. The people there were all really nice and patient and they really adapted the treatment to my hair type which I love. Honestly, I couldn’t be happier!

It’s been a little over a month since I’ve gotten it done, so it’s not as soft as when I first got it done, and since I do gymnastics and have my hair tied tight for that, it’s not perfectly straight and has a couple of kinks, but I am still really happy with it and it feels so light and soft and smooth. I was going to write about my entire hair care routine but I feel like that would just make this post really long so that’ll probably be in one of the next few posts!

I am really happy with my hair rebonding experience and if you are in Singapore and looking to rebond you hair, I recommend InVogue Hair Salon, I think the price is reasonable given the results and how long they last. Is it “The Best Rebonding in Singapore” like they say? I wouldn’t know, I haven’t been anywhere else, but it is definitely really good!

See you in the next post! ♥

P.S.: This post is not sponsored by InVogue in any way, they don’t even know I’m writing it!

Leave a Reply

